Thursday, August 17, 2006

So, What Is A Planet? Authentic NASA Toys and Replicas
Their seems to have been much discussion around the blogosphere regarding the definition of a planet. Currently there are nine, but all of that may change with the International Astronomical Union considering to add three more worlds to the list.

(Universe Today) The world's astronomers, under the auspices of the International Astronomical Union (IAU), have concluded two years of work defining the difference between "planets" and the smaller "solar system bodies" such as comets and asteroids.

If the definition is approved by the astronomers gathered 14-25 August 2006 at the IAU General Assembly in Prague, our Solar System will include 12 planets, with more to come: eight classical planets that dominate the system, three planets in a new and growing category of "plutons"--Pluto-like objects--and Ceres. Pluto remains a planet and is the prototype for the new category of "plutons."

I think the new classification system will help bring about an end to the planet debate, as our current system would have to make room for about 40 plus kuiper objects recently discovered throughout our solar system.

I am not too thrilled to see Ceres added to the list (isn't it too small?) although classifying Pluto and Charon as a double planetary system may make our solar system a little bit more interesting.

Update: Added source link.

Want more space geek news? Then subscribe below via email, RSS or twitter for free updates!

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Prefer another service? How about via RSS or follow Colony Worlds on Twitter!

No comments:

Post a Comment

You can either visit the stars or watch them from afar.

But if you choose the former, you'll definitely get a better view.

~Darnell Clayton, 2007

Note: You do not need a Blogger account in order to comment, but you do need to solve the universal puzzle below.